Election History - November 3, 2020

District 1 and District 2 Elections will be held in the City of Campbell on Tuesday, November 3, 2020, to elect one City Councilmember per district to serve a four year-term. 

The following persons have qualified as candidates to run for City Council in the November 3, 2020, Campbell Election:

District 1

Anne Souza
Terry Hines
Susan M. Landry

District 2

Carol Hoffman
Sergio Lopez

Register To Vote
Find your district

Election Result Updates

Find the results of this election posted on Santa Clara County Registrar of Voters page here.

Ballot Drop Box

Due to COVID-19 City Hall is not open to the public. A ballot drop box will be located outside of City Hall near the front parking lot. To find other ballot drop box locations please click here.

District Based Election

In 2019 the City of Campbell transitioned to district-based elections. The November 3, 2020 Election will be the City of Campbell's first district-based election. In a district-based election, voters will only vote for the City Council seats up for election in their specific district. All five current Councilmembers will serve at-large until the end of their current terms. Each of the current Councilmembers resides in their district. At the end of their terms, the Councilmembers that have not met their term limits can run for re-election by district.

About the City Council

The City Council is made up of five Councilmembers that serve a four-year term. The Mayor and Vice Mayor are appointed by Council annually in December and serve a one year term in the capacity. Regular City Council Meetings are typically held on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. In addition to attending regular and study session meetings, Councilmembers also are required to serve on various City/County/regional committees.

Eligibility for Candidacy

To be eligible to run for City Council, a person must be 18 years of age or older, a registered voter, and a resident within the district the candidate seeks to represent for not less than 30 days preceding the date of filing candidate papers.

For information regarding the conduct of Municipal Elections, please refer to the California Election Code.

Voter Information

To register to vote, you must be at least 18 years of age by election day, a U.S. citizen, a California resident, and not currently imprisoned or on parole for a felony. You can register to vote online or by completing a registration form available at the Register of Voter's Office, U.S. Post Offices, Public Libraries, the Department of Motor Vehicles, and other government offices. 

To request a vote by mail ballot, please contact the Register of Voters at (408) 299-8640 or click here.

Important Dates:

  • The first day for mailing of vote by mail ballots is October 5, 2020. 
  • Early voting period at the Registrar of Voters Office is October 5 - November 2, 2020.
  • The last day to register to vote for the November 3, 2020 Election is October 20, 2020
  • Vote Centers will  be open to all registered voters in Santa Clara County, October 24 - November 3, 2020.
  • The last day to request a vote by mail ballot is October 27, 2020

All vote centers and the Registrar of Voters Office will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. on Election Day November 3, 2020.

To find your polling place, click here.

To track your vote by mail ballot, click here.
To look up your voter registration, click here.

Look up your district click, here.

Election Related Links:

California Secretary of State
Santa Clara County Registrar of Voters
Fair Political Practices Commission